Skip to Content
Department of Premier and Cabinet

Premier's Local Government Council

The Premier's Local Government Council (PLGC) is a forum for the Tasmanian Government and local government to discuss important and topical issues of statewide significance. The PLGC has met at least twice a year since 2000.


The PLGC is made up of the following members:

  • the Premier, who chairs the meeting
  • the Minister for Local Government
  • the President of the Local Government Association of Tasmania (LGAT)
  • seven local government elected members (mayors, deputy mayors or councillors) who are also members of LGAT's General Management Committee

The PLGC is supported by an Officials Committee made up of senior staff members from the Tasmanian Government, LGAT and three councils.

View the full list of current PLGC and Officials Committee membership lists.

Protocol Agreement for the PLGC

The PLGC follows a protocol agreement which sets out the principles of the PLGC, terms of reference, processes and rules for consultation. The Protocol is reviewed regularly.  The latest Protocol Agreement was endorsed at the December 2018 meeting.

PLGC Communiqués

After each PLGC meeting, a summary of the discussion, any agreements and important issues talked about in the meeting is published. These summaries are called Communiqués and can be accessed by clicking on the links below.

PLGC Communiqués:

PLGC Minutes

At each PLGC meeting, the minutes from the previous meeting are checked and approved by PLGC members. After each meeting, the previous PLGC meeting minutes are published and can be accessed by clicking on the links below.

PLGC Minutes:

Following the revision of the Protocol Agreement in 2012, PLGC minutes are uploaded to this website when they have been confirmed by the PLGC commencing in 2012.