Skip to Content
Department of Premier and Cabinet

Local Government Division

Contact Details

By phone
Contact the Local Government Division on 03 6232 7022 or Service Tasmania on 1300 135 513.

Our staff
Use the Tasmanian Government Directory to find staff contact details

Social media
Follow our social media accounts to keep up to date with specific programs and initiatives.

Local Government Board

The Local Government Board is a statutory body established under the Local Government Act 1993 (the Act).

The role of the Board

Under the Act, the Minister for Local Government can request a Local Government Board to:

  • conduct reviews of councils or reviews that concentrate on specific local government topics
  • conduct reviews of single or joint local government authorities
  • provide general advice to the Minister

Membership of the Board

The Local Government Board comprises:

  • the Chairperson
  • one person nominated by the Local Government Association of Tasmania (LGAT)
  • one person nominated by the Local Government Managers Australia (Tasmania) (LGMA)
  • the Director of Local Government or their nominee
  • one or two additional people can join the Board at the request of the Minister, for the purpose of conducting a particular review

Details of the current Board are available on the Board Members page.

Recent activities of the Board

In 2018 the Board completed a review into voluntary amalgamation and shared services options for the Sorell and Tasman Councils.

More information

For more information regarding the Local Government Board, contact the Local Government Division:

  • phone the Local Government Division on 03 6232 7022