Skip to Content
Department of Premier and Cabinet

Office of Security and Emergency Management

Contact Details

By phone
Contact the Office of Security and Emergency Management on 03 6232 7979 or Service Tasmania on 1300 135 513.

Our staff
Use the Tasmanian Government Directory to find staff contact details

Social media
Follow our social media accounts to keep up to date with specific programs and initiatives.

Sorell/Tasman Affected Area Recovery Committee (STAARC) - Terms of Reference


The Sorell/Tasman Affected Area Recovery Committee has been formed to plan and lead the long-term recovery from the consequences of the major bushfires that affected the Sorell and Tasman Municipal Areas in January 2013.


To assist the communities of the Sorell and Tasman Municipal Areas to manage their own recovery following the major bushfires in January 2013. Specifically this includes:

  • Providing advice to the State Government, Sorell and Tasman Councils to ensure that recovery programs and services meet the needs of the communities impacted by the fires
  • Overseeing the delivery of projects that support social, infrastructure, economic and environmental recovery to ensure that they are community-owned and targeted to best support the recovery of impacted communities
  • Providing a central point of communication and coordination for the actions of the wide range of recovery-related services and projects being progressed outside of the direct control of the Committee
  • Providing input into evaluations concerning the recovery process
  • Responding to recovery-related issues that arise in the community and ensuring that appropriate action is taken


The work of this Affected Area Recovery Committee will include: 

  • Reviewing recovery-related services and programs and identifying gaps
  • Providing advice and recommendations to government and non-government organisations on priorities for investment to support the environmental, social, infrastructure and economic recovery of impacted communities
  • Maintaining arrangements to ensure that organisations involved in the recovery process can communicate with each other and align programs and projects for maximum benefit to the community
  • Where required, requesting individuals or organisations to oversee delivery of projects that support recovery;
  • Providing advice to government and non-government organisations on actions required to address issues as they arise
  • Seeking input from members of the community on recovery needs and communicating with members of the community regarding recovery-related services and program



  • Kerry Vincent, Mayor, Sorell Council (co-chair)
  • Jan Barwick, Mayor, Tasman Council (co-chair)
  • Robert Higgins, General Manager, Tasman Council
  • Mathew Healey, Director, Bushfire Recovery Unit, DPAC
  • Caroline Bignell, community representative
  • Elizabeth Knox, community representative
  • Fiona Jennings, community representative and Local and Regional Social and Personal Support Recovery Coordinator
  • Geoff Martin, community representative
  • Graham Millar, community representative
  • Joanne Curran, community representative
  • Roseanne Heyward, community representative
  • Tony Ryan, Department of Economic Development, Tourism and the Arts
  • John Harkin, Community Recovery Manager, Bushfire Recovery Unit

Roles and Responsibilities


It is expected that the Chairperson will:

  • chair meetings of the Committee
  • coordinate the development and delivery of the meeting agendas, reports and advice, and work program, including maintaining an accurate Terms of Reference
  • provide leadership and direction to the Committee

Executive Officer

It is expected that the Executive Officer will:

  • manage and coordinate the administration of meetings, and provide secretariat support (including the distribution of the Terms of Reference)
  • act as a primary point of contact and liaison for the committee members, stakeholders and proxies (if required)
  • arrange for reports to be provided as and when required


It is expected that members will:

  • attend and participate in each meeting using existing skill and knowledge sets, and available resources to support the affected communities’ recovery
  • actively maintain communication and relationships to achieve the Committee’s purpose, including liaising in a timely way with relevant stakeholders and proxies
  • contribute to setting the agenda for meetings, developing key reports, plans and these Terms of Reference
  • actively participate in setting and supporting the agreed recovery activities


It is expected that proxies will:

  • fulfill their member’s obligations to the Committee
  • participate in working groups as directed by the Committee

Stakeholders and Guests

Guests, including stakeholders, may address the Committeeand contribute to Committee discussions. Guests may notparticipate in the decision making of the Committee.

Practices and Protocols

Stakeholder Management

The Committee will undertake detailed stakeholder analysis and participation planning. Stakeholders to be considered should include, but not be limited to:

  • Communities and individuals within the affected areas
  • People affected by the bushfires external to the affected area, eg tourists
  • Councils
  • Local industry / businesses / environmental / community groups
  • Southern Region Emergency Management Committee
  • Southern Region Community Recovery Committee
  • Sorell Municipal Emergency Management Committee
  • Tasman Municipal Emergency Management Committee
  • Non government organisations, volunteer/charity groups

Terms of Reference

These Terms of Reference are the instrument of authorisation for the Affected Area Recovery Committee. It is accepted by the State Controller at the outset of the Committee’s work and will be reviewed at regular interviews while recovery activities are being supported no less than every six months. Material changes to the Terms of Reference are endorsed by the State Controller, as required. The Executive Officer is responsible for arranging distribution of the updated Terms of Reference (this includes sending a copy to the State Emergency Service).

Meeting Frequency

The Committee will meet fortnightly.

The Committee may alter this schedule according to need.

Standard Meeting Arrangements

The Committee will follow standard committee practices, keeping minutes and circulating agendas and meeting papers in a timely manner prior to scheduled meetings.

Decision Making and Quorum

A quorum is no fewer than three members including the Chairperson, the Executive Officer and one other member.Decisions of the Committee shall be arrived at by consensus.In the event that consensus cannot be found, the Chair will have the final say.

Arrangements for out-of-session decisions should align with the following points:

  • The Committee can make resolutions without meeting in person as long as a quorum indicates they support the written resolution
  • To indicate support, the paper containing the resolution must be signed by the quorum (hand or electronic signature)
  • Multiple copies of the same paper with individual signatures are considered to be one paper


The Committee will report to the Tasmanian Bushfire Recovery Taskforce. This Committee aims to provide a written report that includes outcomes achieved, and will note any emerging issues/future directions.

Other reports will be made as required to other stakeholders and the affected communities.