Skip to Content
Department of Premier and Cabinet

Office of Security and Emergency Management

Contact Details

By phone
Contact the Office of Security and Emergency Management on 03 6232 7979 or Service Tasmania on 1300 135 513.

Our staff
Use the Tasmanian Government Directory to find staff contact details

Social media
Follow our social media accounts to keep up to date with specific programs and initiatives.

Tasmanian Bushfire Recovery Taskforce - Terms of Reference


Harnessing the individual talents and expertise of some of Tasmania’s leading business and community figures, the Tasmanian Bushfire Recovery Taskforce will take a leading and coordinating role to ensure that whatever needs to be done is done as effectively as possible to rebuild Tasmanian communities.


The Tasmanian Bushfire Recovery Taskforce is established formally under the Emergency Management Act 2006. Its role is to:

  • Provide advice on and approve an action plan for the State recovery from the 2013 bushfires, drawing on existing Tasmanian emergency management arrangements and plans
  • Provide regular progress reports to the community, government and media on the recovery progress
  • Provide advice to the Government on the needs of the people, groups, businesses and other organisations affected by the bushfire and appropriate responses
  • Provide guidance to the Bushfire Recovery Unit
  • Provide guidance to the AARCs
  • Facilitate community and expert reference groups to support the Taskforce and the AARCs
  • Work with the State Bushfire Recovery Coordinator, and the chairs of the AARCs to tackle specific issues or resolve outstanding problems
  • Report regularly to the Ministerial Bushfire Committee


The Taskforce comprised:

  • Chair, Damian Bugg, QC, former Director of Public Prosecutions
  • Steve Gunn, Blundstones Chief Executive Officer
  • Barry Easther, President, Local Government Association of Tasmania
  • Dr Ian Burke, Australian Red Cross Executive Director
  • Jan Davis, Tasmanian Farmers and Graziers Chief Executive Officer
  • Darren Hine, Tasmania Police Commissioner
  • Rhys Edwards, Department of Premier and Cabinet Secretary
  • Michael Stevens, Tasmanian Bushfire Recovery Coordinator