Skip to Content
Department of Premier and Cabinet

Office of Security and Emergency Management

Contact Details

By phone
Contact the Office of Security and Emergency Management on 03 6232 7979 or Service Tasmania on 1300 135 513.

Our staff
Use the Tasmanian Government Directory to find staff contact details

Social media
Follow our social media accounts to keep up to date with specific programs and initiatives.

Central Highlands Affected Area Recovery Committee (CHAARC) - Terms of Reference


To assist the Central Highlands community to manage their recovery following the major bushfires in January 2013 and to seek feedback from the community and others on actions that could be taken to improve the community’s resilience to bushfire.

Specifically the purpose includes:

  • Understanding the impacts of the Lake Repulse fire on the Central Highlands community
  • Considering assistance that could be made available to assist the Central Highlands community to recover from the fire
  • Providing advice to the Bushfire Recovery Taskforce and other relevant committees regarding specific needs of areas affected by the Lake Repulse fire
  • Providing a decision-making forum for the distribution of any available Federal or State funding for recovery initiatives
  • Seeking input from the community and others on what arrangements may assist to build resilience in the community to future bushfires


The work of this Affected Area Recovery Committeewill be characterised by collaboration with stakeholders,information-sharing and collective decision-making.


The CHAARC shall comprise:

  • Deirdre Flint, Mayor, Central Highlands Council (Chair)
  • Mathew Healey, Director, Bushfire Recovery Unit, DPAC
  • Ann Jones, community representative
  • Richard Downie, representative from the TFGA

Secretariat support

Jan Monks, Executive Officer.

Frequency of meetings

The first meeting of the Committee was held on Thursday, 24 January 2013.

The Committee will determine the frequency of meetings based on the nature of actions agreed.


A quorum is no fewer than three members including the Chairperson, the Executive Officer and one other member.

Arrangements for out-of-session decisions should align with the following points:

  • The Committee can make resolutions without meeting in person as long as a quorum indicates they support the written resolution
  • To indicate support, the paper containing the resolution must be signed by the quorum (hand or electronic signature)
  • Multiple copies of the same paper with individual signatures are considered to be one paper