Skip to Content
Department of Premier and Cabinet

Review reference group

The Steering Committee has been supported by a Reference Group comprised of members from a broad range of backgrounds, including members of the local government sector (elected member and professional), the community, business and industry and research groups.

On 21 February 2019 the then-Minister for Local Government, Hon Peter Gutwein MP, appointed the following members to the Reference Group:

  • Doug Chipman - Mayor, Clarence City Council
  • Peter Freshney - Mayor, Latrobe Council
  • Kerry Vincent - Mayor, Sorell Council
  • Cheryl Arnol - Councillor, Glamorgan-Spring Bay Council
  • Claire Smith - Director Organisational Performance, Waratah-Wynyard Council
  • Lynette While - Director Community and Development Services, Meander Valley Council
  • John Brown - General Manager, Break O'Day Council
  • Andrew Paul - General Manager, Clarence City Council
  • Karen Abey - Solicitor, Simmons Wolfhagen
  • Margaret Taylor - Community member
  • Pamela Allan - Adjunct Professor, School of Technology, Environment and Design, UTAS
  • Craig Perkins - CEO, Regional Development Australia - Tasmania
  • Rhonda Skelton - Board Member, Northern Midlands Business Association
  • Kym Goodes - CEO, Tasmanian Council of Social Services (TasCoss)
  • Luke Martin - CEO, Tourism Industry Council Tasmania
  • Brian Wightman - Executive Director, Property Council of Australia - Tasmania Division
  • Michael Bailey - CEO, Tasmanian Chamber of Commerce and Industry (TCCI)

The Reference Group has an advisory role and participated in workshops to discuss and provide advice to the Steering Committee on reform solutions. These discussions took into account the findings gathered through submissions to the Discussion Paper and feedback received through State-wide consultations.

Further information about the role and responsibilities of the Reference Group can be found in the Reference Group Charter.