Skip to Content
Department of Premier and Cabinet

Phase 2 - Reform Directions

Reform Directions Paper

The Reform Directions Paper was released in July 2019, along with short fact sheets outlining the key issues raised in Phase 1 and the Reform Directions for each topic. The fact sheets can be accessed below.

The Reform Directions were informed by research, practices in other Australian jurisdictions, feedback and submissions from Phase 1, as well as discussions and advice from the Review Reference Group.

Fact Sheets


Submissions to the Reform Directions Paper closed on Monday 30 September 2019, following a three month consultation period.

This marked the end of Phase 2 of the Review. More information about the Review’s time-frames can be found on the Timeframes and Scope page.

Close to 800 survey responses were received, as well as 76 written submissions. Written submissions are available to view below.

Feedback received through submissions and face-to-face consultation sessions held around the State was provided to the Review’s Steering Committee, and the Committee submitted its advice to the Government in late 2019.

The graphic below demonstrates the level of engagement during the Phase 2 consultation period (click image to enlarge).

Consultation statistics - Phase 2

Phase 2 Submissions

Written submissions are available to view below. In accordance with the Department of Premier and Cabinet's Public Submissions Policy, personal information such as addresses and phone numbers has been redacted.

A summary of the online survey results can be accessed here.

Local Government Submissions Other Submissions
Australian Local Government Women's AssociationAustralian Institute of Company Directors
Break O'Day CouncilAustralian Services Union
Burnie City CouncilBennett, Kurt
Central Coast CouncilBolton, Jennifer
Central Highlands CouncilBonham, Kevin
Clarence City CouncilCapill, Neil
Cradle Coast AuthorityCircular Head Chronicle
Devonport City CouncilClimate Tasmania
Dorset CouncilCollier, Jim
George Town CouncilCommonwealth Bank
Glamorgan-Spring Bay CouncilEnvironmental Defenders Office Tasmania
Glenorchy City CouncilFont PR
Hobart City CouncilGardam, Malcolm
Huon Valley Council ManagementHeck, John
Huon Valley CouncilHeil, Petra
King Island CouncilHiggs, Marcus
Kingborough CouncilHiscutt, Ben, Desmond & Hugh
Latrobe and Kentish CouncilsHolderness-Roddam, Bob
Launceston City CouncilHuon Valley Residents and Ratepayers Association Inc.
Local Government Association of Tasmania

Institute of Internal Auditors Australia

Local Government Professionals Tasmania

King Island Courier

Metske, Sommer Councillor

Kingborough Ratepayers Association Inc.

Northern Midlands Council

Kite, Roger

Powell, Edwina Councillor

Law Society of Tasmania

Southern Midlands Council

Marsh, Joanne

Tasmanian Asset Management Group

Martin, Roger

Thwaites, Don Deputy Mayor

Maynard, John

Walker, James Alderman

Miller, Graeme

Waratah-Wynyard Council

Mulder, Tony

West Tamar Council

North-Eastern Advertiser

Winter, Dean MayorPeart, Kim
 Proportional Representation Society of Australia (Vic-Tas)
 Rands, Robert
 Slade, Tim
 Spurge, Mamie
 Summers, Geoff
 Tasmanian Community Newspaper Alliance
 Tasmanian Council of Social Services (TasCOSS)
 Tasmanian Farmers & Graziers Association
 Tasmanian Greens
 Tasmanian Labor Party
 Tasmanian Ratepayers and Community Alliance Network
 Vellacott, Bob
 Webb, Penny
 Wiener, Sven
 Willing, Don