Skip to Content
Department of Premier and Cabinet

Local Government Elections

Every four (4) years, residents and ratepayers in each of Tasmania’s 29 municipal (council) areas elect councillors to represent them. Each council has between 7 and 12 councillors (including a Mayor and Deputy Mayor).

Local government elections are held by full postal ballot. Voters do not need to attend a polling place like they do for State and Federal elections.

You must be enrolled to vote in a municipal area to participate in a local government election.

Voting is not compulsory.

The next Tasmanian Local Government elections will be held during September and October 2018.

Why stand for election?

Standing for election provides an opportunity to positively influence the future of your local community.

Councillors are elected by the community, for the community. Being a councillor is a privileged position and can be very rewarding, both personally and professionally.

As part of the council, elected members are able to make decisions that improve and promote the interests of the community in areas such as public infrastructure, services and facilities.

Resources and information

If you are thinking about standing for election, a range of resources and information is available to help you with your decision:

The Local Government Division has created the following documents regarding the changes to the Local Government (General) Regulations 2015 to view and download:

Why should you vote?

Councillors, including a mayor and deputy mayor, are elected to represent the interests of the community.

Councillors make significant decisions about the infrastructure, services and facilities provided to their communities.

It is important that the people elected to form a council have a variety of skills and expertise and provide good representation of the communities they serve.

Voting in council elections is not compulsory. However, voting in a council election is an important way of having your say on local issues.

People should vote for the candidates that they believe will provide the range of skills needed to make the best strategic and financial decisions in the interests of their community.

The term of office for a local government elected member is four (4) years. This means that councillors elected in October 2018 will remain in office until October 2022.

For further information

For full details about local government elections, refer to the Tasmanian Electoral Commission Information for Candidates 2018 Local Government Elections booklet.

For additional resources, visit the Local Government Association of Tasmania or you can contact the Local Government Division either by email to or on 03 6232 7022.