Skip to Content
Department of Premier and Cabinet

Board members

The Minister for Local Government appoints all Board members, with the exception of the Director of Local Government, which is a statutory position. Two members are appointed on the nomination of the Local Government Association of Tasmania (LGAT) and the Local Government Professionals Australia (Tasmania) (LGPA Tas).

The current Board members are:

Mr Hadley Sides (Chairperson) – Mr Sides is a Director on the Board of the Macquarie Point Development Corporation and is the former Chief Executive of the Sullivans Cove Waterfront Authority. He worked for 15 years as Chief Executive Officer and Director of Economic Development with Victorian councils. He was also a director of a private consultancy firm, a director of the Tamar Regional Master Planning Authority (1976-80) and an economist for the Tasmanian State Strategy Plan (1975-76).

Mr Greg Preece (nominee of LGAT) – Mr Preece has extensive experience working in the local government sector. He was the general manager at Meander Valley Council between 2005 and 2016.  Mr Preece was also the general manager at Dorset Council between 1999 and 2005.

Mr Andrew Wardlaw (nominee of LGPA Tas) – Mr Andrew Wardlaw is a Director of the Local Government Professionals Australia (Tasmania). He is currently the general manager at the Burnie City Council. Mr Wardlaw has 20 years experience in local government, and has held general manager positions in three other Tasmanian councils: King Island, West Coast and Circular Head.

Mr Alex Tay – Mr Tay is the current Director of Local Government in the Department of Premier and Cabinet. As Director of Local Government, Mr Tay or his nominee automatically becomes a member of the Board under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1993.

The Board is currently supported by a dedicated secretariat for its current review into voluntary amalgamation options for Sorell and Tasman Councils. The secretariat receives administrative support from the Local Government Division, Department of Premier and Cabinet.