Skip to Content
Department of Premier and Cabinet

About the Local Government Division

The Local Government Division manages the State Government's important relationship with Local Government, and in particular with the Local Government Association of Tasmania, the peak body for local government in Tasmania.

The Division has 13 staff who provide policy and legal advice to the Premier, the Minister for Local Government and the Government and manage a range of programs that support State Government and Local Government cooperation.

The Local Government Division's programs include:

  • development of the Local Government sector
  • executive support to the Premier's Local Government Council
  • executive support to the Local Government Board
  • representing Tasmania at the national Local Government and Planning Joint Committee
  • administration and review of legislation and regulations associated with Local Government
  • monitoring of council performance through the Local Government Council performance report.

The local government legislation for which the Local Government Division is responsible for administering is available online.

Arrow grey blueOn this website you will find information on:

Business address:

Local Government Division
Department of Premier and Cabinet
Level 5, 15 Murray Street
Hobart TAS 7000

Mailing address:

GPO Box 123,
Hobart TAS 7001

Phone: 03 6232 7022
Fax: 03 6173 0257

Director of Local Government:
Alex Tay
03 6232 7022