Skip to Content
Department of Premier and Cabinet

Tasmanian Sporting Hall of Fame inductees 2015

  Craig Walton running through the water  Matthew Richardson playing AFL football for the Richmond Football Club Geoffrey ‘Paddy’ Martin playing football for Tasmania Beverley Buckingham on a horse Dean Lampkin posing with medal

Dominic Moneypenny with a medal around his neck  Urszula Stanny (Kay) rowing on the lake


Seven outstanding Tasmanian sportspeople have been inducted into the Tasmanian Sporting Hall of Fame in 2015. 

The seven individuals will add to the over 110 sportspeople already in the Hall of Fame, each reflecting Tasmania’s tradition of sporting passion and success, despite our small population.

The seven inductees for 2015 are:

  • Matthew Richardson, former Richmond Football Club best and fairest and three-time All Australian.
  • Geoffrey ‘Paddy’ Martin, an Australian football icon who played in eight premierships, 312 games, represented Tasmania 1951 to 1953, NWFU captain and or coach 1959-1966.
  • Beverley Buckingham, a trailblazing jockey, the first woman in the world to win a State Jockey’s Premiership, and rode 906 winners during her 18-year career.
  • Paralympic rower Dominic Monypenny who won gold in the Rowing World Championships at Gifu, Japan, in 2005, and again in London in 2006.
  • Triathlete Craig Walton who won six World Cup events
  • Urszula Stanny (Kay) a Commonwealth Games gold medallist rower who was a pioneer in rowing. Urszula was among the first women’s intake into the Australian Institute of Sport.
  • Dean Lampkin, a Commonwealth Games silver medallist in judo who held the Australian National Judo Champion for three years.

View all the inductees in the Tasmanian Sporting Hall of Fame.

Photo credits: