Skip to Content
Department of Premier and Cabinet

Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize

Frank MacDonald in WWI

The Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize is an essay-based competition for grade nine students that helps promote and preserve the meaning of the Anzac spirit in the Tasmanian community.

Prize winners have the opportunity to study Australia's participation in the Great War by taking a study tour to visit significant World War I landmarks and battlefields on the Western Front in Europe. Students also undertake research into individual soldiers who fought in World War 1 as part of the preparation for their trip to Belgium and France.

The Frank MacDonald Memorial Prize was first awarded in 2004 and is an initiative of the Tasmanian Government, supported by RSL Tasmania. The Prize is jointly administered by the Department of Education, and Communities, Sport and Recreation Tasmania, in the Department of Premier and Cabinet.

The prize recognises World War I veteran, Frank MacDonald, who was born in Ulverstone in 1896, and died in August 2003 at the age of 107.

Frank MacDonald was one of the last of the 40th Infantry Battalion, Australian Imperial Force; the only all-Tasmanian Battalion raised in World War I. He was responsible for repairing signal lines between headquarters and trenches and received the Military Medal for working courageously under heavy fire. He also served in World War II and received the Legion of Honour in 1998.

Essay competition

The Frank MacDonald MM Memorial Prize is open to year nine students from Government, non-Government schools and students educated at home at a similar year level.

Students are required to respond to either a topic in an essay format or an audio-visual/ICT presentation. The essay topics may be downloaded below:

If you are being home-schooled, you can forward your entry directly to the:

Frank MacDonald MM Memorial Prize (Project Officer)
Department of Education
Learning Services Southern Region
GPO Box 169

Closing date: Friday 24 August 2018

Essays that have previously won the Frank MacDonald MM Memorial Prize may be viewed on the  Department of Education website.

Find out more