Skip to Content
Department of Premier and Cabinet

Members of the Minister’s Disability Advisory Committee

Mr David Anderson
Mr Anderson has worked in the disability sector for many years, and is currently Area Manager for disability accommodation services in Launceston that is managed by Able Australia Services. Mr Anderson’s daughter has a disability. David has volunteered previously for Special Olympics Tasmania and is a former athletics coach for the Tasmanian team.

Dr Doug Bridge
Dr Bridge (retired) was a Senior Lecturer at the University of Tasmania’s Institute for Inclusive Learning Communities, and played a key role in the establishment of the Institute. He is a former school principal, and has a strong background in academic research into inclusion and inclusive schooling. As part of his doctoral work Dr Bridge worked with UNESCO in Africa and Asia to develop education policies and practices that were inclusive of people with disabilities.

Mrs Sue Hodgson OAM (Chair)
Mrs. Sue Hodgson left her position as a secondary school teacher in 1986 to take on the role of primary carer, when her 22 year old daughter acquired a severe brain injury. Since then Sue has been living and working with and for people with ABI and their families – firstly as co-founder of Headway Tasmania; and then as Executive Officer of the Tasmanian Brain Injury Program, where she remained until retiring from full-time work in 2000. In 1992 she was awarded the Order of Australia Medal (OAM) for Community Services. She is currently employed as part-time Manager of the Tasmanian Branch of the Australian Physiotherapy Association, and is a board member of Advocacy Tasmania, and the Brian Injury Association of Tasmania, and President of HOPES Inc. (a voluntary organisation seeking to develop a co-operative living concept for people with acquired and neurological conditions).

Dr Chris Jones
Dr Jones has been the Chief Executive Officer of Anglicare Tasmania since 1998. He is a board member of a number of organisations, including Job Futures Tasmania, Tasmanian Affordable Housing and NILS Network. Dr Jones is a Bishop in the Anglican Church and holds numerous church board positions. In a government advisory capacity, Dr Jones has been involved with the Commonwealth Advisory Committee on Homelessness and the Tasmanian Gambling Consultative Group.

Miss Katie Jones
Miss Jones has been living with a disability for the past ten years. Her work experience has included projects with Disability Services’ Resource Team North and Anglicare Tasmania, and membership of the Southern Midlands Council’s Access Committee.

Ms Elizabeth Neal
Ms Neal is a person with a disability, and has had Multiple Sclerosis for almost 20 years. She is a user of a wide range of disability services including the MS Clinic and the Huonville Community Health Centre. Ms Neal is currently also a member of the Positive Behaviour Support Committee and the School Association Committee at Huonville Primary School.

Mr Darren Osborn
Mr Osborn has more than 20 years experience as a disability service provider. He has over 8 years experience in working with people with intellectual / developmental disabilities. Since 1994, Darren has had a special focus on the community based rehabilitative and social re-integration needs of people with an acquired brain injury / neurological disability. He is currently the Executive Director of Headway Support Services Tasmania Inc., which supports people with disabilities, specialising in supporting people with an acquired brain injury, their families and social networks.

Mr Garry Sims
Mr Sims has been a Councillor with the Latrobe Council since 1994. He was a member of the statewide local government committee which developed policy and strategy prior to the introduction of the disability discrimination act into local government. He was previously the Tasmanian Liaison Officer for the Australian Quadriplegic Association.

Mrs Millicent Subonj
Mrs Millicent Subonj has extensive experience in the delivery of disability services in rural and remote areas of the North and North West Coast. She has worked with Multicap for over 23 years, and is the organisation’s Chief Executive Officer. Mrs Subonj has been a member of National Disability Services (formerly ACROD) for 20 years.

Ms Robin Wilkinson AM (Deputy Chair)
Ms Wilkinson has many years experience in advocacy and governance roles within the Tasmanian disability sector. She is deputy chair of Advocacy Tasmania Inc and a board member of the Consumers Telecommunication Network a national telecommunications advocacy organisation. Robin currently volunteers her time for policy development with National Disability Services and is working with TasCoss on another disability project. In 1994 Ms Wilkinson was awarded Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for Services to People with Disabilities.