Skip to Content
Department of Premier and Cabinet

Centenary of ANZAC Steering Committee

Members of the State Government Centenary of Anzac Steering Committee have been appointed.  The role of the Steering Committee is to be a central co-ordination and advisory group to the Government.  Subjects discussed at Steering Committee meetings are outlined in communiques.


Ms Pat Leary - (Co-Chair)

Ms Leary is the immediate past President of the Defence Force Remuneration Tribunal and a former President of the Tasmanian Industrial Commission.  She holds senior membership of a number of government boards and committees in Tasmania and the Northern Territory.  The daughter of a World War Two soldier who died from his war injuries, Ms Leary was a Junior Legatee and has a passion for support to veterans and their families.

Mr Robert Dick - (Co-Chair) 

Robert Dick 

Robert is the current State President RSL Tasmania Branch Inc and a member of the RSL National Board of Directors.    He is an ex-serviceman having served in the RAAF for 21 years.  He is strongly committed to the future welfare of our veterans, ex-servicemen and woman and their dependants.   He is passionate about Australian Military History specifically Australian involvement in World War One and the Centenary of ANZAC.

Mr Tony Scott OAM 

Mr Scott is a Vietnam veteran and former State President of the Returned and Service League (RSL) in Tasmania.  He is also a former Chair of the Tasmanian Veterans' Advisory Council (TVAC).  Mr Scott has a passion for the Centenary of World War One.

Mr Mike Romalis

Mr Romalis is the President of the Australian Peacekeepers and Peacemakers  Veterans' Association (APPVA) – Tasmania Branch and the Chair of the RSL Tasmania Hobart ANZAC Day Commemorative Committee.

Mr Charles Bracewell 


Mr Bracewell is Manager Event Development at Events Tasmania.

Mr Reg Watson  


Mr Watson's father was a Rats of Tobruk returned serviceman and his grandfather served with the 2nd Tasmanian Imperial Bushman in the South African war. Mr Watson is a Tasmanian colonial and military historian and author of 1 000 published articles and 14 books, and is often a guest on radio, television or as a public speaker. He is a sixth generation Tasmanian.

Mr Brian Harper OAM

Mr Harper is a Vietnam veteran with a strong commitment to supporting veterans.  He is a Life Member of the Vietnam Veterans' Launceston Sub Branch, the first support group of its kind in Tasmania, which he co-founded with Mr Dick Holtsbaum.  Mr Harper is a former National Secretary and National Vice-president of the Vietnam Veterans Australia Association (VVAA) and State Secretary of the VVAA.  He has also been a long-term volunteer with the Australian Army Cadets, Veterans and Community Bus and RSL.