Skip to Content
Department of Premier and Cabinet

Family Violence Working Group wins Award for Excellence

The team from the Family Violence Cross Agency Working Group has taken out the Prime Minister's Award for Excellence in Collaboration at the recent Institute of Public Administration Australia (IPAA) National Awards in Canberra. The Working Group also received a Commendation Award for Sustainable Excellence in Public Sector Management.

The Working Group developed Safe Homes, Safe Families: Tasmania’s Family Violence Action Plan 2015-2020 and is coordinating ongoing implementation of the actions. The Awards are a testament to the Working Group’s commitment to working together across agencies, and with stakeholders, to make our community safer; to looking for innovative solutions; and to embracing "excellence" in all of their work.

Members of the Family Violence Cross Agency Working Group include representatives from the Departments of Premier and Cabinet; Justice; Police, Fire and Emergency Management; Health and Human Services; and Education.

Team members who attended the awards ceremony in Canberra were:

  • Brook Teale, Natalie Cooling and Bridget Eltham, from Communities, Sport and Recreation, Department of Premier and Cabinet;
  • Wendy Spencer, Department of Education, and a Director of Australia’s National Research Organisation for Women’s Safety Limited (ANROWS); and
  • Mandy Johnson, Safe at Home Coordination Unit, Department of Justice.