Skip to Content
Department of Premier and Cabinet

Fact Sheet 1: What is the Disability Framework for Action?

Tasmanians with disability

There are over 125,000 Tasmanians with disability. These people are business people, employees, job seekers, students and volunteers. They are people who are active in sport, recreation and cultural activity.

A rights based, social model of disability

The Disability Framework for Action (DFA) is Tasmania’s implementation plan for the National Disability Strategy 2010-2020 (NDS). The DFA reflects the rights based, social model of disability set out in the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities ratified by the Australian Government in 2008.

This approach recognises both that Australian governments are bound to recognise the rights of people with disability and that the social exclusion of people with disabilities is not due to the functional limitations of individuals but the failure of society to meet the needs of people with disability.

“I have an impairment…but the barriers I face within our society disable me.”

The National Disability Strategy 2010-2020

The Strategy is a 10 year national plan to improve life outcomes for Australians with disability.

The Strategy covers six outcome areas:

  1. Inclusive and accessible communities - including passenger transport; parks, buildings and housing; websites and electronic information; and social, sporting, recreational and cultural activities.
  2. Rights protection, justice and legislation - including anti-discrimination measures, advocacy, laws, complaints processes, the electoral and justice systems.
  3. Economic security - including jobs, business opportunities, financial independence, income support for people who are not able to work, and housing.
  4. Personal and community support - including care and support provided by specialist disability services and mainstream services; and care and support by family and friends.
  5. Learning and skills - including early childhood education and care, schools, further education, training, moving from education to employment; and life-long learning.
  6. Health and wellbeing - including health services; activities to help people improve their health; how the health and disability systems connect; and enjoyment of life.

The National Disability Strategy (NDS) - Second Implementation Plan 2015-2018

The NDS Second Implementation Plan identifies four areas of national cooperation:

  1. NDIS transition to full scheme
  2. Improving employment outcomes for people with disability
  3. Improving outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people with disability
  4. Communication activities to promote the intent of the NDS throughout the community

How is the DFA Implemented?

Agency Disability Action Plans

Each State Government Department has a disability action plan to show how they meet the objectives of the Framework.

View the State Government Agencies' disability action plans

How do we know if it is working?

The Premier’s Disability Advisory Council (PDAC) takes a key role in monitoring performance in relation to the DFA. PDAC:

  • Receives annual reports from Tasmanian Government Departments on implementation of the DFA.
  • Invites heads of Departments to PDAC meetings to discuss implementation issues directly with PDAC members.
  • Prepares an annual report to Government on implementation of the DFA, which highlights examples of good practice and recommends areas for future action.