Skip to Content
Department of Premier and Cabinet

Tasmanian Young Achiever Awards

Congratulations to everyone nominated at the Tasmanian Young Achiever Awards 2018 for their outstanding contributions to the Tasmanian community.

The Young Achiever Awards provide an excellent platform to recognise and celebrate the achievements of young Tasmanians across a diverse range of fields.

“Be inspired” was an apt theme for the 2018 Awards.  All the nominees are inspiring role models of the skills, talent, dedication and commitment to the community of many young Tasmanians from all walks of life.

It is also fitting that the Awards coincide with the end of Youth Week Tasmania, which has seen inspiring events take place across the State. Through Youth Week Tasmania, young people have been able to express their ideas, and highlight the contributions they make to the wider community.

Young people are the future leaders of our State and it is important to acknowledge their contribution and encourage them to pursue their goals.

Premier's Young Achiever of the Year award

Congratulations especially to Kirby Medcraft who is this year’s recipient of the Premier's Young Achiever of the Year award.

Ms Medcraft is the Assistant Principal at Windermere Primary School and has brought about significant change, particularly in regards to family engagement.

Her K-2 ‘Counting Bags’ take home Maths activities had 100 per cent involvement from families, and the ‘Bedtime Stories’ afternoon saw over 200 parents attend school to read with their child.

Kirby also won the University of Tasmania, Faculty of Education Teaching Excellence Award and was presented with the award by Angela Crane.


This year recognised the achievements of finalists across nine categories.

The category winners were:

  • Stephanie Eslake, 27 of Sandy Bay – The Coffee Club Arts and Fashion Award
  • Kirby Medcraft, 29 of Lutana - University of Tasmania, Faculty of Education Teaching Excellence Award
  • Olivia Fleming, 21 of Rosny Park - Heather & Christopher Chong Community Service & Volunteering Award
  • Nadine Ozols, 29 of Bicheno – St.LukesHealth Healthier Communities Award
  • Tara Howell, 27 of Launceston – Spirit of Tasmania Tourism and Hospitality Award
  • Madeleine Fasnacht, 18 of Blackmans Bay - Motors Tasmania Sports Award
  • Madelena Andersen-Ward, 26 of Margate - Colony 47 Young Indigenous Achievement Award
  • Grant Milbourne, 28 of Lenah Valley - First National Real Estate Leadership Award
  • Jack Dyson, 20 of Rokeby - TADPAC Print Service to the Disability Sector Award

Congratulations to all finalists and winners for their many achievements.

Award presentation

View the presentations of the Tasmania Young Achiever Awards 2018.

Interviews with previous winners of Premier's Young Achiever of the Year

Find out what it means to be nominated for the Tasmanian Young Achiever Awards in these interviews:

More information

More information about the Tasmanian Young Achiever Awards is available from Awards Australia.

Phone: 03 6234 9677